Posted 4th May 2017

Hockey star Peter Scott named Sports Personality of the Year at annual Blues Awards

England hockey international Peter Scott was named as the University of Bath’s Sports Personality of the Year at a Blues Awards ceremony attended by HRH The Earl of Wessex.

Sports Performance student Scott, a Trendell Sports Scholar who made his senior England debut in March, topped a poll of Students’ Union Sport members from a shortlist that also included tennis player Emma Hurst and judoka Jan Gosiewski and Prisca Awiti-Alcaraz.

Scott was presented with his award by The Earl of Wessex, Prince Edward, who is Chancellor of the University of Bath, during a ceremony at the Assembly Rooms in Bath.

Mathematical Sciences student Jonathan Verity, who also plays hockey, won The David VandeLinde Prize for sporting accomplishment, leadership and academic success, while The Ivor Powell Award for Excellence in Coaching went to American Football coach James Snook.

Rower George Auger and fencer Noah Rogerson, who study Mechanical Engineering and Mathematics respectively, received Gethin John Bevan Club Member of the Year awards.

Team of the Year went to a badminton men’s 1st team who won all of their BUCS Premier South matches this season. The women’s badminton 1st team and men’s hockey 1st team were also shortlisted.

University of Bath Netball Club took the Club of the Year award ahead of the rugby and association football & futsal clubs.

The Blues Awards ceremony is an annual celebration of student sport at the University. This year’s event also celebrated the achievements of the Rio 2016 Olympians and Paralympians who either train at the Sports Training Village or are graduates.

Seven-time Paralympics swimming champion Sascha Kindred, fresh from being inducted into the University’s Hall of Fame for Sport, was presented with a Honorary Degree and made a speech which was enjoyed by all in attendance.

University of Bath Students’ Union Sport Officer Will Galloway said: “It was a pleasure to be able to host the Blues Awards, which as always provided a fitting end to the sporting year. It was particularly special during a year in which we have seen so many high-profile student events on campus, along with the Olympics and Paralympics.

“Congratulations to all of the award winners. For those who are graduating, good luck, I’m sure you will continue to be successful away from Bath and to those with us for the next 12 months, I look forward to seeing what we can all achieve over the next year.”

2017 Roll of Honour

Sports Personality of the Year

Peter Scott (hockey)

Shortlisted: Prisca Awiti-Alcaraz (judo), Jan Gosiewski (judo), Emma Hurst (tennis)

BUCS Team of the Year

  1. Men’s badminton
  2. Women’s badminton
  3. Men’s hockey

Club of the Year

  1. Netball
  2. Rugby
  3. Association football and futsal

Gethin John Bevan Club Member of the Year

George Auger (rowing), Noah Rogerson (hockey)

The David VandeLinde Award

Jonathan Verity (hockey)

Olympians & Paralympians

Emily Diamond, Eilidh Doyle & Polly Maton (athletics); Heather Olver (badminton); Ben Fletcher (judo); Joe Choong & Kate French (modern pentathlon); Nicole Walters (para-triathlon); Natasha Hunt & Amy Wilson Hardy (rugby sevens); Jazz Carlin (swimming); Marcus Daniell (tennis); Sonny Webster (weightlifting); Piers Gilliver (wheelchair fencing).

Honorary Blue

Sean Murray (association football & futsal); Dom Tripp & Will Serocold (rugby union); Professor Dame Glynis Breakwell, Vice-Chancellor (services to sport).

Full Blue

Alex Lane (badminton); Noah Rogerson (fencing); Eloise Laity (hockey); Prisca Awiti-Alcaraz, Jemima Duxberry & Jan Gosiewski (judo); Jessie Hood (rugby union); Kristian Callaghan (shooting); Lloyd Wallace (snowsports); Emma Hurst (tennis); Michael Guise (ultimate frisbee).

Half Blue

Keon Richardson (association football& futsal); Sam Dobson & Amy Reddaway (badminton); Adam Croutear, Robert Cuming & Jonathan Verity (hockey); Andrew Woodford (karate); Abi Caple & Jade Traynor (netball); Nick Bell & Thomas Mapp (rowing); James Exley & Thomas Plance (rugby); Georgia Murphy (ultimate frisbee).

Other news articles

Blue & Gold stars help England Roses secure Jean Hornsby Cup after Vitality Legends Series victory over Superleague All Stars

A quartet of Team Bath Netball players helped the Vitality Roses secure a 3-0 Legends Series victory over the Superleague All Stars and lift the Jean Hornsby Cup, named after the first black England Netball player. Serena Guthrie co-captained...

Read More
Fantastic five Blue & Gold players taking part in Vitality Netball Legends Series between England and Superleague All Stars this week

Five Team Bath Netball players will be involved in an exciting three-match Vitality Netball Legends Series taking place this week between the England Roses and an international Superleague ‘All Stars’ side. Serena Guthrie will co-captain a Roses squad that...

Read More
Academy players make their mark as youthful Blue & Gold squad enjoy highly-competitive final friendly at Severn Stars

Anna Stembridge was pleased to see a youthful Team Bath Netball squad produce a highly-competitive performance against Severn Stars in their final external friendly before the 2021 Vitality Superleague season. The Blue & Gold – sponsored by Principal Partners...

Read More
Team Bath Netball Sponsors
Partners and Suppliers